Public Document Pack Shadow Dorset Council

SHADOW SENIOR APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of meeting held on Thursday 13 SEPTEMBER 2018 at Weymouth and Portland National Sailing Academy, Osprey Quay, Portland

Present: Cllrs Spencer Flower (Chairman), Andy Canning, Jeff Cant, Graham Carr-Jones, Colin Huckle, Rebecca Knox and Gary Suttle.

Officers present (for all or part of the meeting): Nicola Houwayek (HR Strategic Lead, Shaping Dorset Council), Gill Stewart and Dawn Faulkner (GatenbySanderson).

14. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests at the meeting.

15. Apologies

An apology for absence was received from Cllr Alford.

16. Minutes

The minutes of the previous meeting held on 19 July were confirmed and signed.

17. Exempt Business

Decision

That in accordance with Section 100 A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972, it was agreed to exclude the public from the meeting in relation to the following business as it was likely that if members of the public were present, there would be disclosure to them of exempt information as defined in Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act and the public interest in withholding the information outweighed the public interest in disclosing the information to the public.

18. Chief Executive Appointment

The Committee undertook a final assessment and stakeholder involvement stage of the process for all shortlisted candidates for the post of Chief Executive of Dorset Council. Following the assessment it was agreed that Matt Prosser should be recommended for appointment to the Shadow Dorset Council meeting on 27 September 2018 from 1 October 2018 (at a salary of £165k) as Chief Executive designate, and from 1 April 2019 as Chief Executive.

Decision

That the Shadow Dorset Council be recommended to appoint Matt Prosser as Chief Executive designate from 1 October 2018 (at a salary of £165k) and as Chief Executive from 1 April 2019 of Dorset Council.

19. Urgent Items

There were no urgent items considered at the meeting.

Duration of meeting: 9.00 am - 5.00 pm

Chairman

.....